#11 – Why I’m lukewarm to climate change…

Reason #11 – Celebs who “never let a serious crisis go to waste.”

=========

For the record: I’m neither a denier nor a zealot …  so, according to British writer (& phrase-coiner) Matt Ridley, I’m a “lukewarmer”.

And, I’ve personally had the eyes of 2 hurricanes literally pass right over my house, so I’m aware of their devastating potential.

I have friends and family in Houston and scattered around Florida. They and other hurricane victims have my deepest sympathy.

Moving on …

========

Earlier in the summer, I posted a series The 10 reasons why I’m lukewarm to climate change…

Last night’s celebrity phone-a-thon for Harvey & Irma victims prompts me to add to the list.

======

Reason #11- Celebs who ““Never let a serious crisis go to waste.”

The quote is generally attributed to Rahm Emmanuel – former of Obama chief-of-staff and currently Mayor of murder- riddled Chicago.

Last night, the credo was put into action.

At 8 o’clock, I tuned in the see the semi-finals of my favorite TV show: America’s Got Talent.

Imagine my disappointment when I saw that the show was being delayed (to past my bed time) for a celebrity fund-raiser.

OK, I figured … let’s watch an hour of pros sing and dance.

Cue the first act: Little Stevie Wonder … err, I mean Stevie Wonder … err again, I mean Steven Wonder … whatever.

clip_image002

Pre-ambling his ditty, Mr. Wonder preached:

“It just loves. As we should begin to love and value our planet.”

So far, so good.

Then the pivot:

Anyone who believes that there is no such thing as global warming must be blind or unintelligent.”

He made a lightning-fast pivot from the hurricane disasters to climate change.

Conveniently, ignoring a few facts …

===========

For starters, the U.S. came off a record-breaking decade:

No major (Cat 3 or higher) hurricane had made landfall in the continental United States since Hurricane Wilma in 2005.

That 12 year span is a record according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. NOAA list of hurricanes

Further, no hurricanes (not even minor ones) hit the U.S. in a couple of recent years – 2013, 2015.

How can the effects of climate change be so intermittent … and so dormant over long stretches of time.

That just doesn’t make sense.

==========

OK, what about severity?

You know: “The “worst ever argument”.

True, Harvey and Irma are among the  20 most severe hurricanes. … Irma tied for #7 and Harvey tied for #18.

But, neither qualifies the “worst ever”.

And, be sure to note the number of other hurricanes in the top 20 that happened before fossil-fueled autos roamed the earth … and, well before China and India started spewing mega-doses of pollutants into the atmosphere.

clip_image004
Source
=========

Bottom line: Stevie might want to do some fact-checking … or better yet, just focus on helping the hurricane victims.

========

Finally: It might just be me, but shouldn’t Steve come up with a better diss than “they must be blind or unintelligent.”

Think about that one for a second.

========
Recap: The 10 reasons why I’m lukewarm to climate change…
========
#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

Leave a Reply

