In praise of gridlock …

And, why I don’t care if Trump gets impeached.

=========

I had a few very interesting conversations over the past week or two.

They revolved around a couple of linked topics:

1) Buyer’s remose

2) Congressional gridlock

3) Impeachment

image

For what it’s worth, here’s how I come out on these topics …

==========

Q1: Do I regret voting for Trump?

Answer: Nope.

My vote was entirely #NeverHillary and anti-liberal activist courts.

Trump was the only GOP candidate who could have defeated Clinton.

Hillary’s not President.

Check!

Gorsuch is on the Supreme Court.

Check!

Dems forced the nuclear option on judges.

Ginsburg or Kennedy are likely the next to go.

Check!

I figure that I’m already playing on house money … anything else positive is simply frosting on the cake.

==========

Q2: What about gridlock?

I say: the more locked the grid, the better.

Most legislation makes my life worse, not better.

I can’t think of any legislation since the Reagan tax cuts that made me materially better off.

Further, hte collateral damage from most legislation has made me worse off.

On a small scale, my boat engine usually stalls out because of the mandated ethanol fuel standards.

On a grand scale, I haven’t been able to get an appointment with my primary care physician since ObamaCare was passed.

Seriously, I shrieked when McConnell delayed the August recess.

Get them out of town!

I’m all for gridlock and a do nothing Congress

=========

Q3: What if Trump gets impeached?

As Rhett Butler would say: “Frankly my dear I don’t give a damn.”

Except for entertainment value, Trump has probably outlived his usefulness (see Q1 above).

I like watching Dems hyperventilate whenever Trump flashes a shiny object.

But, even that is getting a bit old.

What I don’t get is why the Dems are pushing so hard for impeachment.

I’m ok with impeachment proceedings … entertainment value would be high and they’d tie up Congress for months (see Q2 above).

And, I’d be very happy with a President Pence … a conservative who couldn’t have beaten Hillary in 2016, but could possibly parley a headstart to win in 2020.

=========

Bottom line: Politically, I’m pretty copacetic these days …

=========

#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

2 Responses to “In praise of gridlock …”

  1. Da Cuz Says:

    Wow Ken
    The Dems control most of the newspapers and most of the tv news stations they just write every article bashing Trump.
    I can’t watch the late night talk shows. The monologs aren’t funny -they are just more Trump bashing, I’m sure directed by the network bosses who are all libs.
    During the Obama administration it was all positive and he didn’t help the worker one bit. He didn’t improve the economy in 8 years and left the country in a mess. Trump is trying to to change the culture which is hard if you have almost all of the media against you. I hope Hilly wants to run again so we can have 8 years of Trump. My pockets are filling up with $. Please keep it up President Trump.

  2. Jack Clark Says:

    90+% in agreement. Primary issue I have with impeachment; the possible empowerment of NYT, MSNBC, PBS, NBC, ABC, Nikelodeon, etc. Even larger concern is that impeachment hearings might save the “credibility free” network, CNN. Bailing out CNN would be tragic! 😎

Leave a Reply

