#2 – Why I’m lukewarm to climate change …

Reason #2: Al Gore and his his Doomsday Predictions

=========

I’m neither a denier nor a zealot …  so, according to British writer (& phrase-coiner) Matt Ridley, I’m a “lukewarmer”.

In a prior post, I covered reason #1 … Unsettling Science  … I’ve gotten  cognitive whiplash from “Ice Age” u-turning to  “Global Warming”  …  which was slowed by an “18-year Pause” … and then wrapped in a catch-all “Climate Change”.

Sorry, but this just doesn’t strike me as settled science.

Let’s move on…

========

My 2nd reason: Al Gore and his doomsday predictions .

image

========

Let me be unscientifically caddy for a moment.

I think Al Gore is a complete dufass who has raked millions preaching on behalf of climate change.

I personally don’t believe a thing that the dude says.  Period.

As a recovering marketer, I think the zealots would be better off with PeeWee Herman as their front-man.

OK, with that out of the way, let’s get specific ….

===========

Remember Gore’s Academy Award winning movie: An Inconvenient Truth.

Manhattan gets swamped … polar bears are wiped off the face of the earth … etc.

When hyping the movie in 2006, Gore oft-uttered his applause line:

“Within the next 10 years, unless drastic measures are taken to reduce greenhouse gasses, the world will reach a point of no return and a true planetary emergency will be upon us.”

===========

Well, those 10 years have come and gone.

The planet hasn’t melted or exploded.

Manhattan streets are clear of cascading water.

Polar bears are still prancing on the ice caps.

The beach at my Annapolis vaca-shack is still right where it was 20 years ago.

So, I have a hard time swallowing all of the hype.

==========

And, guru-Gore said that in 2016 we’d be beyond the “point of no return”.

If we’ve passed the point of no return, what’s the use of doing anything?

I’m confused, Al.

=========

#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

=========

Leave a Reply

