Let’s build a cabinet ….

During this week’s GOP debate, the obvious became clear to me.

Like many (most?) people, I have trouble envisioning any of the candidates sitting behind the desk in the Oval Office (or standing at a podium in front of the desk).

But, there’s premium lemonade that can be squeezed from the cast of characters.

 

image

=======

Specifically, if these boys and girl can modify their behavior to swallow their egos and play nice-nice with one another, I think a powerful cabinet can be put together .

Here’s the team I’d put on the field …

========

Let’s start with the most obvious choice:

Secretary of HHS: Dr. Ben Carson

Dr. Carson first became a household name when he schooled  President Obama on health care reform at a prayer breakfast.

Imagine if a real doctor – and, perhaps, the brainiest candidate – took charge of “repealing & replacing” ObamaCare.

Crafting the blueprint for a hyper-effective health care system.

Carson knows the business, can out think adversaries and likely has the support of medical professionals across the country.

=======

Secretary of Commerce: Ms. Carly Fiorina

She knows tech and she knows business development.

She can read a P&L and connect with CEOs.

She says she has cultivated business relationships around the world.

Let’s capitalize on her claimed network and her bulldog aggressiveness.

=======

Secretary of State: Senator Marco Rubio

I’m on record predicting an eventual Rubio – Fiorina ticket.

But, that’s boring, so let’s think out of the box.

Rubio seems to know the international issues better than any other candidate.

Sure, he plays young, but I think the kid has both charisma and street sense.

I don’t think that he would  invite James Taylor to terrorist damage sites.

I can imagine him as the face of the U.S. outside the country.

=======

Attorney General: Governor Chris Christie

I wasn’t an Eric Holder fan and Loretta Lynch lost me when she – immediately after the San Bernadino massacre – said that her priority would be prosecuting people who say mean things about terrorists and their common origins.

Say, what?

I buy Christie’s riff about his experience prosecuting terrorists after 9/11.

The guy has a fire burning in his big belly.

I’d sleep better knowing that he was leading the chase against the bad guys.

Our national priority wouldn’t be promoting sweet-talking, it would be rolling the cold-blooded murderers.

=======

Vice President: Governor John Kasich

Gotta admit, the guy is a bit of a loose cannon and that makes be a bit nervous.

But, I think the country needs an effective COO (Chief Operating Officer) …. somebody who knows how the government works …. and has the experience and skills to make things happen in a messy, polarized environment.

Kasich is right … when there’s smoke in the cabin, I want somebody who knows how to land the plane.

But, I want him in the co-pilot’s seat … not the pilot’s.

======

I’d fill other cabinets posts (e.g. DOD, Treasury, Education) from outside of the current candidate pool.

And. you probably noticed that a few candidates aren’t named on the above lists.

So now, the big question … who goes at the top of the ticket?

On Monday, I’ll reveal my choice to run this team.

My bet: you’ll be surprised … and, when you read my rationale, you’ll say “of course, why didn’t I think of that?”

Stay tuned.

======

#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

======

Leave a Reply

