Perspectives on Climate Change …

Since Bernie Sanders has said that Climate Change is a far bigger threat than ISIS

… and since Prince Charles has declared that Climate Change is what’s causing all the havoc in the Middle East

… and since President Obama says that the U.S. is demonstrating that it’s still relevant in the world by the “leading on Climate Change” (apparently from the front, not the back this time)

… and since this is the week of the Global Climate Change Convention in Paris …

image

I decided to get up to speed on the topic and do a couple of posts on the subject.

For openers let’s get some perspective from political commentator (and comedian) Dennis Miller …

=====

Miller says that he’s trying to keep an open mind on the subject … but that he remains a bit skeptical.

Why?

“There are a lot of vying statistics, but I think the crux of the issue is that the temperature has reportedly gone up roughly 1.8 degrees over 100 years. Excuse me, but am I the only one who finds a temperature shift of 1.8 degrees over more than 100 years to be amazingly stable?”

“Think about it, and excuse me for not trusting temperature figures from the year 1905. Back then, everybody was still (defecating) outside in the woods, but I’m supposed to believe they had a stranglehold on the Fahrenheit of the Earth’s magma. I’m sure that was an accurate reading.”

“Do you think that during the Dust Bowl in the 1930s in the Midwest people thought ‘Wow, this must be global warming’ or did they just think ‘(Expletive), it hasn’t rained in a while.’”

“People ask me if I’m worried about the effects of global warming on my kids. Well, obviously I love my kids and I want them to live to be 100. If they do, then that’s another 1.8 degrees. What about my kids’ kids? Make it 3.6 degrees. I’d tell them to just pretend that they’ve moved to Phoenix.”

“Global warming believers are growing “increasingly hysterical. It’s officially becoming creepy and it spooks me.”

“I just find it odd that we’ve come to a point in history where if I don’t concede that if Manhattan will be completely submerged in 2057 I’m thought to be a delusional contrarian by some of my more zealous fellow citizens.”

“If we commissioned a public works project (let’s call it ‘The Manhattan Project’) and tried our hardest to submerge Manhattan in the next 50 years, we couldn’t pull it off.”

“Simply put, I can’t worry about the Earth right now because I’m too worried about the world. Why don’t we all take terrorism as seriously as Barack Obama takes global warming?

=====

If you need a laugh today, listen to Miller deliver his full riff on Global Warming …

Click to view
clip_image001

=====

Hat tip to SMH for feeding the original lead and to Newsmax filling in the blanks.

One Response to “Perspectives on Climate Change …”

  1. John Milnes Baker Says:

    Check out this youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4baOeuRDK8
    This is what we’re up against.

Leave a Reply

