What has 8 legs and 6 wings?

Answer: Definitely not a Kentucky Fried Chicken.

image

When I heard a news blurb talking about KFC genetically raising chickens with 8 legs and 6 wings, I bought in.

I figured: smart move.

Kids devour drumsticks and wings are still one of the hottest bar foods around.

My thought: good operations move … improve the “yield” from each chicken.

Turns out that my read wasn’t the story at all …

Au contraire.

According to CNBC:

“Restaurant operator KFC filed a lawsuit against three companies in China whose social media accounts spread false claims about its food, including that its chickens have eight legs.”

Oops.

Apparently, 8 legs is a bad thing.

Or, at least it is if it’s the result of intentional genetic mutation.

How was I to know?

KFC tagged the online rumors for “negativity and unruliness”   that is intended to diminish the KFC brand.

The company is demanding 1.5 million yuan in damages and wants an apology from each of three companies.

The former – which currency translates to about $250,000 is more likely than the apologies.

If I were the KFC CEO, I’d take the money and use it to develop an 8-legged chicken.

Still sounds like a good idea to me.

#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

Leave a Reply

