Stop right there, professor … proof of citizenship, please !

Unfortunately, this has become an annual event.  A summer initiation of sorts.

Once again, I was detained for questioning by government officials.

This year was unusually unnerving.

No, it wasn’t by rogue IRS agents in Cincinnati targeting an alleged conservative blogger.

 

image

I was suspected of crossing a border to illegally access government-provided services.

Here’s the story …

Yes, your (usually) mild-mannered man of the classroom … stood up on suspicion of unlawful conduct.

An intimidating officer of the state demanded to see a photo ID — proof of citizenship – and my car’s registration.

Really !

OK, it wasn’t the U.S.- Mexico border … it was the Maryland-Virginia border.

The services that I was allegedly attempting to use illegally: use of the “Anne Arundel County landfill and recycling center” (a.k.a. the local dump).

That’s right.  In order to throw an old desk chair into the landfill dumpster, I had to show my driver’s license and to produce proof of Anne Arundel County, Maryland residency.  Fortunately, I may be the only person in Maryland driving around with paid real estate tax bills in my glove compartment.

Think about it.

Maryland is a state that – for example – reportedly looks the other way when it comes to admitting illegal immigrants into public schools and allows them to pay in-state tuitions at colleges.  No harm, no foul.

Photo ID to vote in Maryland?

No way !!!

Discriminatory.

But, the line gets drawn in the sand at the local dump.

I didn’t really mind showing my ID docs, but the situation certainly did make me scratch my head (again) …

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma             >> Latest Posts

Leave a Reply

