Ready to Rumble: Woodward vs. Obama (and the rest of the media) …

Perhaps, the first break in the mass media ranks.

In a Washington Post blog post, famous journalist Bob Woodward:

  • Repeated his claim that the Sequester idea came from Obama and his sidekick Jack Lew
  • Declared that Obama is now constantly moving the Sequester’s goalposts

Well, that didn’t sit well with the White House.

Woodward told CNN that a “very senior person” at the White House warned him in an email that he would “regret doing this,”

Uh-oh.

Woodward countered on MSNBC, calling Obama’s hysterical Sequester claims “…  a kind of madness that I haven’t seen in a long time.“

click to view

image

I don’t think this bruhaha is over.

Team O isn’t attacking Rush or Hannity … they’re shooting at a journalistic institution.

This one will be fun to watch.

* * * * *
Want to read the transcript?

From BewsBusters

BOB WOODWARD, WASHINGTON POST:

I’m not sure the White House understands exactly what happened in all of these negotiations at the end of 2011 with the sequester and the super committee and God knows what because they were really on the sidelines.

But I think it’s possible to take one example here where President Obama came out and acknowledged that we are not sending the aircraft carrier Truman to the Persian Gulf because of this budget agreement.

I mean, this will resonate with you. Joe,  I think.

Can you imagine Ronald Reagan sitting there and saying, “Oh, by the way, I can’t do this because of some budget document,” or George W. Bush saying, “You know, I’m not going to invade Iraq because I can’t get the aircraft carriers I need,” or even Bill Clinton saying, “You know, I’m not going to attack Saddam Hussein’s intelligence headquarters” as he did when Clinton was president “because of some budget document?”

Under the Constitution, the president is Commander-in-Chief and employs the force.

And so we now have the president going out because of this piece of paper and this agreement, “I can’t do what I need to do to protect the country.”

That’s a kind of madness that I haven’t seen in a long time.”

* * * * *
Follow on Twitter @KenHoma               >> Latest Posts

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers